Develop iPhone Apps from Windows?

I am new to the iPhone, I just got mine last week, and I am in love with it.  It is in fact, the first Apple merchandise I have ever purchased in my lifetime, or at least since I can remember.  Anyway, being the developer I am, I want to build applications for it!  But what is a Microsoft centric developer using Windows Vista supposed to do?  Well, as I have been told, cry, because development is limited to only Mac OS developers.  However, there is a small amount of light.  I have not had a chance to check it out yet, but apparently David Supuran over at iPhoneGameOver Wiki has put together an iPhone Binary Toochain Installer for Windows users, complete with installation instructions. If anyone has a chance to try it out, please let me know how it goes.  I will of course post my results when I have a chance to try it out as well.

Hat Tip: http://tinyurl.com/5h547o

Posted in iPhone. 3 Comments »

3 Responses to “Develop iPhone Apps from Windows?”

  1. Robert Says:

    Update: It looks like the chainer at IphoneGameOver is no longer available, so I found a different one called WinChain that seems to have much more support. You may want to check that one out instead.

    http://code.google.com/p/winchain/wiki/HowToUse

  2. Jim Says:

    This actually looks like it requires a jailbroken phone (at least in my 30sec glance at the website (winChain).

    This would not be for official Apple supported apps off the iTunes App Store (judging by some of the terms and dates of posts). If you want to develop official Apple supported apps you’ll have to use their tools (at least I haven’t heard of any other way yet)…. which in short means, buy a Mac.

  3. Robert Says:

    Yep, this has been my determination as well and thus HACKINTOSH time!


Leave a Reply

