Where’s the Task Manager? Out of Memory on iPhone

My iPhone is my first Apple purchase (at least that I can remember).  I am a Windows guy and have been since way back in my college days when I was into Unix.  But anyway, today when I was just chugging along on my iPhone and I got an “Out of Memory” error, I was like, “uh oh, better close some processes.. how do I get to the task manager?”  Okay, I didn’t really look for the task manager, but I did go to settings to see if there was a listing of applications in memory to clear out like in Windows Mobile.  I found nothing.  So… I did what any other Windows user would do, I rebooted the phone.  🙂

This is not required, Apple did build in a mechanism to free up memory from an application (though it is the first time that I feel that Windows Mobile’s user friendliness has got one up on the iPhone).  To “force quit” (apparently that is what the MacOS users call it) an application on the iPhone, open that application and hold down the home button for 6 seconds.  The iPhone will then kill that app and release its hold on memory.

The only thing I really dislike about this is that there is no way for me to know WHAT apps are holding memory.  I did some basic searching in the Apple Store and figured I would find an application that did that, but I did not.  So as far as I know, I will just be holding the home button down whenever I am done with bigger applications.

Posted in iPhone. 1 Comment »

One Response to “Where’s the Task Manager? Out of Memory on iPhone”

  1. zair Says:

    try this app free memory made by recession apps it costs 99cents i haven’t tried it out myself though..


Leave a Reply

